San Diego Area Election Results

Local News

Tim Taylor
Updated March 19, 2020

While 100% of precincts having reported, most of the results are known. In the race for Mayor of the City of San Diego, it is still too close to call who will be the second place finisher to Assemblymember Todd Gloria, who is well with 41.8% of the vote.  At this point, San Diego City Councilmember Barbara Bry is at 22.94% and fellow Councilmember Scott Sherman is 444 votes behind, with 22.81%.   There are still approximatly 25,000 countywide ballots left to be counted, with the number of city voters among them unknown. The next update is expected late Thursday. The trend favors Bry.  As with all the California races, the top two finishers will compete in a runoff in November.  Sherman didn’t enter the race until late November, well after after Gloria and Bry.

In Congressional primary election races, Democrat Ammar Campa-Najjar leads the race for the 50th District, with 36.8% of the vote, while former Rep. Darrell Issa had 22.4% and former San Diego Councilman Carl DeMario had 20.3%.  In the 51st District, Democrat Juan Vargas, is well ahead with 72.3% over Republican Juan Hidalgo, with 27.2%.   In the 52nd District, Democrat Scott Peters, with 49.3% is leading Republican Jim Debello, with 32.8%.   In the 53rd District, Democrat Sara Jacobs has 29.2%.  Fellow Democrat and City Council President, Georgette Gomez, has 20.2%.

In the contests for Board of Supervisors, the top two candidates in District 1 are state Sen. Ben Hueso at 29.4% and Port Commissioner Rafael Castellanos at 18.6%. In District 2, former state Sen. Joel Anderson is at 35.7% and Poway Mayor Steve Vaus at 31.2%. In District 3, incumbent Kristin Gaspar is at 43.1% followed by Terra Lawson-Remer at 31.3%.

In the various local State Legislature races, incumbent Senator Toni Atkins was running unopposed.  And, Assemblymembers Randy Voepel, Marie Waldron, Tasha Boerner Horvath, Shirley Weber and Lorena Gonzalez all appeared to be headed for the general election. San Diego Councilman Chris Ward, is at 56.3% in the 78th District over Sarah Davis (27.2%). In the 77th District, incumbent Brian Maienschein, who switched from Republican to Democrat, is leading Republican challenger June Cutter at 57.4% to 42.6%.  The voter turnout count rests at 47.8%.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.